A few words about us

The Special Olympics movement is active in 170 countries. Its mission is to enrich the lives of individuals with an intellectual disability (ID) through sport. More than 4.2 millions special athletes of all ages are registered worldwide and 47 500 in Canada, with nearly 8000 taking part in the recreational or competition programs offered throughout Québec. SOQ's network of annual competitions includes 80 events for all skill levels and in each of its 17 official sports.

In addition to programs specifically designed for people living with an intellectual disability, the Special Olympics movement encourages and facilitates their access to regular sports programs offered in their community in specific sports. It also has technical training and professional development opportunities for its members and volunteers.

Furthermore, the movement supports the establishment and development of local committees with the task of linking its activities and programs with those of existing sports clubs and associations in their communities. At the heart of our mission, the integration into society of athletes living with an intellectual disability is an increasingly topical issue. Special athletes take part in the Montreal Games, in the regional and provincial finals of the Québec Games and in the Canada Games.

Finally, SOQ provides tools and organizes promotional activities to raise public awareness of the benefits of sports in the development and inclusion of people of all ages living with an intellectual disability.

History about Special Olympics

In the early sixties, Dr. Frank Hayden, a Toronto researcher and teacher, demonstrated that, when given the chance, people with an intellectual disability could increase their fitness level as well as their social and motor skills through sports.

His research drew the attention of Eunice Kennedy Shriver and the Washington-based Joseph P. Kennedy Jr. Foundation and led to the creation of Special Olympics Inc. in 1968.

In September 1981. The Special Olympics movement celebrated its 30th anniversary in Québec in 2011.

It was founded in 1981 by Noëlla Douglas. Today retired, she was an educator in a rehabilitation centre for people with an intellectual disability

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Partners

Latest event

11 July 2020 - Haut-Richelieu
Championnat provincial Athlétisme:CANCEL

© 2020 Special Olympics Québec

QUI SOMMES-NOUS ?

Le mouvement des Olympiques spéciaux, actif dans 170 pays, a pour mission d'enrichir, par le sport, la vie des personnes présentant une déficience intellectuelle (DI). Plus de 4,2 millions d'athlètes spéciaux, de tous âges, sont inscrits dans le monde dont 47 500 au Canada et près de 8000 aux programmes récréatifs ou compétitifs offerts dans toutes les régions du Québec. Les 17 sports officiels sont pratiqués à l'intérieur d'un réseau de compétitions annuelles, comptant plus de 80 événements conçus pour tous les niveaux d'habiletés.

En plus de ses programmes spécifiquement destinés aux personnes vivant avec une déficience intellectuelle, le mouvement des Olympiques spéciaux encourage et facilite l'accès à des programmes sportifs réguliers existants au sein de leur communauté. Il offre à ses membres et bénévoles, des programmes de formation et de perfectionnement.

Aussi, il supporte la mise sur pied et le développement d'instances locales dont l'objectif consiste à articuler les activités et les programmes de l'organisme au sein des communautés afin de viser l'intégration sociale des athlètes vivant avec une déficience intellectuelle. En plus du réseau de compétitions offert par Olympiques spéciaux, les athlètes québécois du mouvement sont présents aux Jeux de Montréal, aux finales régionales et provinciales des Jeux du Québec et aux Jeux du Canada.

Histoire des Olympiques spéciaux

Au début des années soixante, le docteur Frank Hayden, chercheur et professeur de Toronto a démontré que, si on leur en donnait l'occasion, les personnes présentant une déficience intellectuelle pouvaient développer leur condition physique de même que des habiletés motrices et sociales en faisant du sport.

Ses recherches ont été remarquées par Eunice Kennedy Shriver. Ainsi, la Fondation Kennedy basée à Washington a conduit à la création en 1968 de Special Olympics.

Au Québec, le mouvement des Olympiques spéciaux a été fondé en septembre 1981. Olympiques spéciaux Québec a célébré son 30e anniversaire en 2011.

Madame Noëlla Douglas, aujourd'hui à la retraite a mis sur pied le chapitre québécois. Elle a travaillé comme éducatrice en centre de réadaptation pour personnes présentant une déficience intellectuelle.

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre

Partenaires

Dernier événement

11 juillet 2020 - Haut-Richelieu
Championnat provincial Athlétisme:ANNULÉ

© 2020 Olympiques spéciaux Québec