Our structure

International Movement

Special Olympics Inc., to which Special Olympics Canada and Special Olympics Québec are affiliated, is active in 170 countries with over 4.2 millions special athletes, 500,000 volunteers around the world and more than 338,000 coaches who participate in more than 70,000 competitions each year. The organization's goal is to promote year-round sports programs and competitions in a large variety of sports adapted for children and adults with an intellectual disability.

In Canada

Special Olympics Canada (SOC) oversees the movement's activities in the 10 provinces and 3 territories. In addition to representing the movement at Sport Canada and managing the national fundraising programs, SOC organizes, in collaboration with the provincial offices, the Special Olympic National Games every two years alternately with the preparation of Team Canada for the Special Olympics World Games the following year.

In Québec

Special Olympics Québec (SOQ) is a registered charity as well as a not for profit organization based on voluntary work. SOQ is a grassroots, multi-sport (17) and single disability (intellectual disability) sports federation recognized by the  ministry of Education, Sports and Leisure and Sports-Québec. Its board of directors is made up of people from the sport and business communities and includes a volunteer representative responsible for liaison with members and the Provincial Program Committee (PPC) chairperson elected by delegates of the movement's active local committees.

Twice a year, each local chapter is asked to delegate a member-at-large to the Provincial Programme Committee (PPC), a meeting where topics relevant to the movement and daily life of special athletes, their coaches and volunteer companions are addressed. An executive committee made up of five elected members oversees this group and meets 4 to 6 times each year. The president of the PPC's executive committee also sits on the board of directors of Special Olympics Québec as vice-president of Programs.

Noëlla Douglas founded the Special Olympics movement in Québec in 1981. Her name has been given to an award given each year to a volunteer in recognition of his or her accomplishments. 

Subscribe to the Newsletter

© 2017 Special Olympics Québec

Structure de notre organisation

Le mouvement international

Special Olympics Inc., auquel est affilié Olympiques spéciaux Canada et Olympiques spéciaux Québec, est présent dans 170 pays, compte plus de 4,2 millions d'athlètes spéciaux, 500 000 bénévoles autour du monde et plus de 338 000 entraîneurs qui participent à plus de 70 000 compétitions chaque année. L'organisme a pour objectif de promouvoir, tout au long de l'année, des programmes d'entraînement et de compétitions dans une variété de sports pour les enfants et les adultes vivant avec une déficience intellectuelle.

Le mouvement canadien

Olympiques spéciaux Canada (OSC) chapeaute les activités du mouvement présent dans les 10 provinces et 3 territoires. En plus de représenter le mouvement auprès de Sport Canada et de gérer des programmes nationaux de collecte de fonds, OSC organise, en collaboration avec les bureaux provinciaux, des Jeux nationaux tous les deux ans en alternance avec la préparation d'Équipe Canada pour les Jeux mondiaux l'année suivante.

Le mouvement québecois

Olympiques spéciaux Québec (OSQ) est un organisme de charité enregistré ainsi qu'un organisme sans but lucratif (OSBL) basé sur le bénévolat. OSQ est aussi une fédération sportive multi-sports (17) et uni-handicap (déficience intellectuelle) reconnue par le ministère de l'Éducation, des Sports et Loisirs et par Sports-Québec. Son conseil d'administration est composé majoritairement de gens du milieu des affaires et inclut un bénévole au titre de liaison avec les membres ainsi que le président du Comité provincial des programmes élu par les délégués des instances locales.

Deux fois par année, chaque section locale est invitée à déléguer un membre actif pour assister au comité provincial des programmes (CPP), réunion où sont présentés et débattus les sujets d'intérêt commun et d'actualité dans le mouvement et la vie quotidienne des athlètes spéciaux et des entraîneurs et accompagnateurs bénévoles. Un comité exécutif formé de cinq membres élus chapeaute ce groupe et se réunit 4 à 6 fois l'an. Le président du comité exécutif du CPP siège également au conseil d'administration d'Olympiques spéciaux Québec, à titre de vice-président aux programmes.

Au Québec, le mouvement des Olympiques spéciaux a été fondé en 1981 par Noëlla Douglas. Aujourd'hui, un prix qui porte son nom est décerné chaque année à un bénévole reconnu pour l'ensemble de ses réalisations.

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre

Partenaires

© 2017 Olympiques spéciaux Québec